Monday, June 7, 2021

Murder at Elm House by @NellDixon, a #BookReview #Cozy

 


Kitty is roped into a murder investigation again, but this one isn't so straight-forward. Her grandmother's friend, who is staying at a hospital called Elm House, is convinced that people are being knocked off and something sinister is afoot.

Kitty and her beau Matthew, a private investigator, promise they will do what they can to find out if anything illegal is going on. They soon find out about strange visitors the home has at night, who are always gone by morning. What are they up to and does it have anything to do with people seeming to die before their time? You'll need to read the book to find out, because I don't reveal spoilers!

There's also some progress into the subplot of who killed Kitty's mother, and the danger is amped up toward the climax of the book. Could it even be that Elm House has some connection to Kitty's murdered mother? Again, read the book.

Murder at Elm House is a light cozy mystery that can be enjoyed in one or two sittings. Recommend to fans of the genre.

I received an advanced reading copy of this book for honest review. Thank you to the author, Bookouture, and NetGalley.

Available from popular retailers including Amazon Canada.

Monday, May 31, 2021

The Marriage by @KimLSlater, a #BookReview

 


Loved this book! Wow. I'm not typically a huge fan of pyschological thrillers. Most of them tend to drag and let me down; at some point I lose interest and set the book aside unfinished. NOT the case with this book! It was incredible and I kept turning the pages, not able to get enough. I swallowed it in a couple of sitting. I kept asking "What's going to happen?" and "What's going on?"

The story was told through multiple POVs and sometimes dipped to the past, then back to the present day. It was all done seamlessly and bravo to the author for pulling this off.

I never saw the ending coming either. Fantastic twist and such a satisfying conclusion. Loved this book! (Have I said that aready?)

I received an advanced reading copy of this book for honest review. Thank you to the author, Bookouture, and NetGalley.

Available from popular retailers including Amazon Canada.

Friday, May 28, 2021

Going Greek by @SueRobertsautho, a #BookReview @Bookouture

 


Wow, where to even begin with this book? I loved it. I suppose I could start there. I love everything Greek and so the first thing that attracted me to this book was that it took place there, but also the fun, attractive cover. Usually, I stick to reading within my writing genres which are mainly mystery and thriller. (Though I do have an action adventure series.)  But when it comes to movies, I often find that I love romantic comedies and this book was basically that! Actually, Hollywood, let's see this as a movie!

Samatha, the main character, is flawed and human, and as a celebrity she finds herself caught up in a scandal--none of which was really her fault. After all, how could she have known the man she slept with was married? She has a couple of choices the way she sees it--stay hidden in her London home and wallow in her recent misfortune or try to put it out of her mind and head to Greece.

Greece is where her sister and family have a sheep farm, and Sam soons learns there's more to life than the hustle and bustle of the city. It was great to see her growth in the book, but I admit there were times I was yelling at her to smarten up. (That just goes to show the author did an incredible job of making Sam human!) Sam kept punishing herself by looking at the people trashing her online when she should have just been enjoying beautiful Greece. And, don't get me started on an old flame that pops up. She gave that guy way too much power!

But all turns out well in the end. Not that I'm going to spoil the outcome, but I will say I'd definitely read another book by this author. (And, as it turns out she has more books set in Greece! Sign me up!)

Also for someone who doesn't typically read romance I gorged on this book in two seatings--the bulk of which was outside on my deck in gorgeous sunshine. (How fitting!) Anyway, I can't recommend this book enough.

I received an advanced reading copy of this book for honest review. Thank you to the author, Bookouture, and NetGalley.

This book is available on popular retailers including Amazon Canada

Monday, May 24, 2021

Mystery at the Abbey Hotel by @ClareChase_, a #BookReview

 

This was a good read with a lot of interesting characters. Eve Mallow, the main protaginist, goes to the Abbey Hotel for a little R&R and finds herself a murder instead. Not right away, though, not until we get a handle on all the different players. It is much the same technique that Agatha Christie often utilized in her Hercule Peroit novels--introduce an ensemble of people and then leave you needing to figure out who had the most motive (or should I say "deduce").

Eve isn't a trained investigator--she's sleuth all the way. Her profession is actually quite a unique one. She's an obit writer, who tends to write about the more elite after they die. In this case, it's the owner of the Abbey Hotel who meets with foul play. It's in the course of speaking to everyone who knew the deceased that Eve begins to piece together who had reason to kill the motel owner.

But there's not just one murder to delight mystery readers. You'll need to read the book to see how the bodies stack up. Enjoy!

I received an advanced reading copy of this book for honest review. Thank you to the author, Bookouture, and NetGalley.

Available from popular retailers including Amazon Canada.

Friday, May 21, 2021

This Other Island by @EdwardsaEdward, a #BookReview

 


Then before I could ask any more questions, I was off, on my way to England, lost on a ship with others similar to me… And after fourteen days that felt like months – I was there, dressed in layers of clothes, thick socks and shiny new shoes, which didn’t take the cold away. So this was my strange new home…

When Yvette receives a call to say her estranged father Joe has been attacked in a seemingly random act of violence, she rushes to his side.

But when she arrives, she finds a man different to the larger-than-life father of her memories. Joe is broken, too scared to describe his attacker to the police, and seemingly haunted by memories of his past – memories he’s fought to suppress.

About the boat journey that brought him and his wife Dolina to their new home in a hostile and unwelcoming Britain – as part of the Windrush Generation. About the secrets left behind in St Lucia… And about the darkest secret of all – the one that he has carried with him since stepping off the boat that cool, wet August day.

As he fights for his life, he begs Yvette to find out what really happened on the last day of that crossing. Because, for forty years, Joe has believed that he killed a man. A man who had loved Dolina too. And who might hold the key to Yvette’s own story…

What follows is a heart-stopping debut novel about family, identity, secrets, lies, and the journeys that define us. It will grip you, challenge you, and ultimately break you into a thousand pieces. Perfect for fans of Small Island and Girl, Woman, Other.


My thoughts:

Usually I stick very close to the mystery/thriller genre, and I love a British cozy mystery with strong female leads. THE OTHER ISLAND was quite a leap from what I normally read. What started out as an attack on an older man sets the scene for the book, but this is as close as the book gets to a typical mystery.

The mystery comes in as the book goes on and the main character's father is dying and requests that she look for a man named Joe from many years ago. And it builds from there but not in the way you might expect.

Well, most questions are answered, at least one is not. I don't want to draw attention to this specifically and potentionally spoil the book for anyone. Know it's a rather minor point and didn't affect my overall enjoyment.

THE OTHER ISLAND really is a story of self-discovery. There's also a message that I took away and that being no one else, even family, defines us as an individual. Though we all crave belonging and a sense of family, we have the choice whether we give our power to other people or not.

I received an advanced reading copy of this book for honest review. Thank you to the author, Bookouture, and NetGalley.

Available from popular retailers including Amazon Canada.